Monday, October 09, 2006

BBC Comments page on new UKIP leader's conference speech

At the UKIP Conference on Saturday Nigel Farage described the party thus, “not right wing, not left wing, but in the centre of public opinion”. By this he was trying to highlight that all three major parties have left the majority of the country and inhabit a smallish part of North London stretching from Notting Hill to Islington.

Quite a claim, but could he be right?

Well take a look at this, it’s the BBC Have Your Say section talking about these claims and it appears that some at least seem to think he is on to something. Also just to let you know I am on the mailing lists of most UKIP type round robin groups and I was not aware of this page until this evening, when I found it looking for something else.

Added: Saturday, 7 October, 2006, 14:08 GMT 15:08 UK
Most of our ills seem to have come about through joining the EU. Britain is saturated to the point that our children cannot afford houses, our tradesmen are running out of work and our hospitals and schools cannot cope with the influx.None of the main three parties seem interested in addressing these issues.Mr Farage may well be right.
Recommended by 145 people

Saturday, 7 October, 2006, 13:30 GMT 14:30 UK
Given that Labour, Tories and Lib Dems are becoming shades of each other a truly different party would be refreshing - especially one for whom Brits matter more than foreigners
, London, United Kingdom
Recommended by 135

Added: Saturday, 7 October, 2006,
14:17 GMT 15:17 UK
I would vote for UKIP, why not? i got nothing to lose, There should also be a National Referendum to deicide whether the UK should stay in or get out of Europe, i would vote to get out. Ian, Uk
Recommended by 110 people

Saturday, 7 October, 2006, 15:47 GMT 16:47 UK
Together, high-immigration and the EU are destroying our national identity. What will be left for are children? I'll vote for any one that can get us out of this mess...

Recommended by 107 people

Added: Saturday, 7 October, 2006, 13:55 GMT 14:55 UK
Over a period of time UKIP will gain more supporters. Independant UK, how nice not to be controlled by the USA and Brussels. Immigration restrictions, a sure vote winner. All we need now is a reduction in the benifit culture and special perks for families and they are on to a winner. No doubt the other parties will alter their policies when they see themselves losing votes.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom

Recommended by 106 people

Added: Saturday, 7 October, 2006, 13:49 GMT 14:49 UK
UKIP can only gain more support with time. So many voters are fed up with the two main parties on the important items such as Europe, Immigration and crime. This island is gaining immigrants at the rate of 500,000 per year. This figure has not yet peaked and the strain on community relations, housing and the public services generally is overwhelming. None of the main parties seem to have a clue on these matters so UKIP will be seen as the next hope. They have my vote.
, Heathfield, United Kingdom
Recommended by 103

Added: Saturday, 7 October, 2006,
14:12 GMT 15:12 UK
I would sooner vote UKIP than any of the three main political parties.
Ricky, Cannock. Staffs
Recommended by 92

Added: Saturday, 7 October, 2006, 14:15 GMT 15:15 UK
Without question UKIP is the ONLY alternative to the 3 existing 'main' parties who are interested only in own individual power, perks and strutting the worlds political stage. What the voters actually want is of minimal interest to them. Those voters who want our politicians to listen to them should vote UKIP - just a few seats would 'shake' all three parties out of their complacency.Tell me who, to make a difference, is the real alternative if not UKIP?
, Sheringham
Recommended by 89 people

Added: Saturday, 7 October, 2006, 13:24 GMT 14:24 UK
Yep,I agree.They have my vote next time out.

Recommended by 79 people

Added: Saturday, 7 October,
2006, 18:43 GMT 19:43 UK
Sadly I feel that UKIP do fill a void.I live in SW England, and our way of life is being destroyed by immigration. Labour have failed to control immigration (and many feel they have deliberately let so many in to keep down wage inflation), and the Tories under Cameron won't say what they stand for.This country is overcrowded, we are overly politically correct, our young people can no longer afford homes. UKIP is the only party who will address the immigration problem.
, Exeter, United Kingdom
Recommended by 76

Added: Saturday, 7 October, 2006,
15:34 GMT 16:34 UK
At last, a reputable party prepared to rid us of the Europeen Union! They'll get my vote.

Recommended by 76 people

Added: Saturday, 7
October, 2006, 13:44 GMT 14:44 UK
Oh how I wish Nigel is right.......I am, as are thousands of others, a member of both the Conservative and UKIP parties and I know which way my tendancies are leaning ever more rapidly nowadays, especially after the recent Conservative conference where I most certainly did not hear the kind of things I was hoping to hear on taxation, immigration, EEC and a host of other things..........David Cameron had better not put his head in sand over UKIP or he will suffer at the election.
Andrew, Bedford
Recommended by 73 people

Added: Saturday, 7 October, 2006, 18:49 GMT 19:49 UK
Nigel Farage is on the mark when he says there is precious little choice between the three main parties in the UK. UKIP is not racist and not anti-Europe: It is anti-EU. Why should this country have some 70% of its laws decided in another country? The EU sells more goods and services to us than the other way round so an independent UK would still be courted by the EU. Just think what we could do by saving the £100,000 per minute EU membership costs us!
Jens Winton, London
Recommended by 71 people

Added: Saturday, 7 October, 2006, 14:11 GMT 15:11 UK
I don't agree with him wanting to build more prisons as prisons don't solve crime completely anyway. What about rehabilitation? Robert Wooller, What about it. Prisons don’t solve crime, but they stop it happening. A criminal in prison can’t commit crimes. Simple!
Recommended by 67 people

Added: Sunday, 8 October, 2006, 11:06 GMT 12:06 UK
I will
vote for UKIP, the more I find out about the EU the more worried I get, If the public knew the truth they would be as well.We need a referendum.


And that is just the full first page of most recommended posts. Now of course there is also a fair degree of hostility as well, funnily enough some sourced from Brussels, but if I was part of the UKIP strategy team, I would be looking at this and thinking…

What the hell do we do now to capitalise on this?


Devil's Kitchen said...

Well, if only there were some kind of friendly forum, where these people could leave comments and suggestions -- that they know would be looked at by the UKIP leadership -- so that they might feel that there was a political party that was really listening and engaging with them, eh?

Then we could leave a comment there, and get lots of people to endorse so that it appeared at the top: wouldn't that be cool...


Anonymous said...

The three main parties now look upon the people of this country only as commodies to be listened to and woed at election time ONLY.. After that that the can be taxed,ignored and treated as non-ententies...Especially the pensioners who they regard as un-wanted nuisences to be given as little as possible. They would far rather carry on giving obscene amounts of OUR money to the currupt EU to enable them to retire on fat pensions which they have obtained through giving away their own country.If this goes on much longer England will cease to exist, which is what Europe always wanted.. My vote goes to UKIP!!